Our Ethics

A mission-oriented company

When Camille and Damien Vever, 7th generation of the family, decided to revive the company which had been dormant since 1982, they were convinced that it needed a responsible business model, adapted to the 21st century societal and environmental challenges.

Vever is thus the very first jewellery company in the luxury sector to be a mission-oriented company. This status, provided for in the french PACTE law, can be obtained by "a company that, in addition to seeking profit, wishes to work for the common good by placing the resolution of social and environmental challenges at the heart of its model". The mission is broken down into an annual plan, the execution of which is audited every two years by an independent third-party organisation. The conclusions of this audit are a condition for maintaining the status of mission-oriented company, and are subject to mandatory publication.

The purpose ("Raison d'être") of Maison Vever is to renew the value proposition of the great historical houses, by offering a jewellery that is committed to and reconciled with ecology, thanks in particular to the use of eco-friendly materials that do not come from the mining industry.

It proposes a new approach to its profession: a new, sustainable luxury, an ethical and responsible jewellery. It values French know-how: its workshops are all French, its craftsmen handle with virtuosity the most modern as well as the most ancestral ways of jewellery making, such as the enamel plique-à-jour.
The Maison is a member of the French Mission-Oriented Companies Community.

Our responsible materials

"No mining" - this mantra is at the heart of our purpose.


Our jewellery is an ode to Nature and human genius. We are committed to offering a responsible jewellery that respects both man and nature, which is why we have chosen not to use any materials directly extracted from the earth. 

In this sense, we also pay particular attention to our suppliers CSR policy and carbon footprint management in our selection process.

Recycled gold

The world is full of gold on the surface. It is estimated that 80% of Earth's gold reserves have already been extracted and that at the current rate of extraction, there are only 15 years of resources left in our soils.


Most of the gold extracted each year (3300 tons) comes from industrial mines, whose exploitation has a considerable impact on the environment: mining waste, soil pollution, greenhouse gas emissions.


It is therefore urgent to change our model. Let's use gold from where it is most commonly found: on the surface and not in the ground. This is why, in order to minimise our impact on the environment, we have chosen to use only recycled gold for our jewellery and high jewellery collections.


We work with RJC COP & RJC COC certified refiners. The gold they recycle comes mainly from jewellery production waste, but also from the recycling of old jewellery, dental gold and a small part of electronic devices (telephones, computers).

Lab-grown diamonds

Since 1821, Vever has always sought and valued know-how, innovation and human genius in its creations. A pioneer of Art Nouveau, the Maison had the talent and audacity to dare to go against the grain of its peers when necessary.

In 2021, we are once again making this choice: for our diamonds, we use exclusively lab-grown diamonds that the science of Man now manage to grow in the laboratory. These exceptional diamonds, the result of decades of research, are the guarantee of a minimized ecological footprint and a proper traceability.

A diamond created in a laboratory is the same stone as a mine diamond. Composed of 100% carbon, they both have exactly the same physical, optical and chemical properties. The only difference lies in their origin: one was made at the center of the earth, and the other in a laboratory reproducing the same chemical and physical processes worked by Nature.


Diamond resources are limited - Earth hasn't produced any for a billion years, and it's becoming increasingly difficult to extract them. We have to dig further and further down, over larger and larger areas, hundreds of metres deep.
Digging for diamonds has a considerable impact on ecosystems and biodiversity, but also on water consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.

A diamond created in a laboratory produces no mining waste and consumes 70 litres of water, whereas it is estimated that extracting 1 carat of diamond produces 2.5 tonnes of mining waste and consumes 480 litres of water. The main impact of lab-grown diamonds is the energy consumed to power the reactors in which the diamond "grows". But thanks to renewable energies, some laboratories are already growing diamonds without emitting any CO2 particles, while others are actively participating in carbon compensation programs in anticipation of being able to produce with green energy. This is how we can certify that more than 90% of our diamonds already have a neutral carbon footprint.

In addition, the course of a lab-grown diamond offers a greater traceability because it comes from a very short supply circuit, without multiplication of intermediaries (up to 20 for a mined diamond). We can thus ensure that it is not the object of any trafficking, that it does not participate in the financing of armed conflicts, and that no human being was exploited during its manufacture.


The Packaging

For our cases, we have chosen eco-design. This means taking into account the environmental impact of the case at each stage of its creation: natural, recycled, recyclable or upcycled materials, no plastic, and local manufacturing in France in a small artisanal workshop.

The box is made entirely of recyclable paper and cardboard, FSC certified, guaranteeing the sustainable management of the forests from which they come from.

The cushions that welcome and protect the jewel are stuffed with recycled foam scraps, and covered with natural upcycled silk, which comes from the end of rolls used by the great fashion houses.

Marion handcrafts the cases with her team at Atelier Dreieck in Paris, a workshop specialized in bookbinding, stationery and restoration of old books. Paper and boxes hold no secrets for them, and the quality and meticulousness of their work make each case a work of art.

Notre Ethique

Entreprise à mission

Lorsque Camille et Damien Vever, 7ème génération de la famille, décident de réveiller la Maison en sommeil depuis 1982, c’est avec la conviction forte qu’il faut la doter d’un modèle responsable, adapté aux enjeux sociétaux et environnementaux du 21e siècle.

La Maison Vever est ainsi la toute première entreprise de joaillerie, et du secteur du Luxe, à être entreprise à mission. Ce statut prévu par la loi PACTE peut être obtenu par « une entreprise qui, en parallèle de la recherche du profit, souhaite œuvrer pour le bien commun en mettant au cœur de son modèle la résolution des défis sociaux et environnementaux ». La mission est déclinée en un plan annuel dont l’exécution est auditée tous les 2 ans par un organisme tiers indépendant. Les conclusions de cet audit conditionnent le maintien du statut d’entreprise à mission, et font l’objet d’une publication obligatoire.

La Maison a pour raison d’être de renouveler la proposition de valeur des grandes maisons historiques, en offrant une joaillerie engagée et réconciliée avec l’écologie, grâce notamment à l’utilisation de matériaux éco-responsables qui ne proviennent pas de l’industrie minière.

Elle propose une nouvelle approche de son métier : un luxe nouveau, durable, une joaillerie éthique et responsable. Elle valorise le savoir-faire français : ses ateliers sont tous français, ses artisans manient avec virtuosité les façons de joaillerie les plus modernes comme les plus ancestrales telle que l'email-à-jour.

La Maison est membre de la Communauté des entreprises à mission.

 

Nos matériaux responsables

« No mining » ce mantra est au cœur de notre raison d’être.


Nos bijoux sont une ode à la Nature et au génie humain. Nous nous engageons à offrir un bijou responsable et respectueux de l’Homme et de la Nature, c’est pourquoi nous avons choisi de n’utiliser aucun matériau directement extrait de la Terre. Dans ce sens, nous apportons aussi une attention toute particulière à la politique RSE et la gestion de l'empreinte carbone de nos fournisseurs dans notre processus de sélection.

 

vever bracelet or diamant elixir

L'or recyclé

Le monde regorge d’or en surface. On estime en effet que 80% des réserves d’or de la Terre ont déjà été extraites et qu’au rythme actuel d’extraction, il ne reste que 15 ans de ressources disponibles dans nos sols.

La majorité de l’or extrait chaque année (3300 tonnes) provient de surcroît de mines industrielles, dont l’exploitation a un impact considérable sur l’environnement : déchets miniers, pollution des sols, émission de gaz à effet de serre.

Il y a donc urgence à changer notre modèle. Allons chercher l’or où il se trouve : en surface et non dans les sols. C’est pourquoi, afin de minimiser notre impact sur l’environnement, nous avons choisi de n’utiliser que de l’or recyclé pour nos collections de joaillerie et haute joaillerie

Nous travaillons avec des affineurs certifiés RJC COP & RJC COC. L’or qu’ils recyclent provient majoritairement des rebus de la production joaillière, mais aussi du recyclage de bijoux anciens, d’or dentaire et d’une part infime d’appareils électroniques (téléphones, ordinateurs).

 

Le diamant créé en laboratoire : « le diamant de synthèse »

Depuis 1821, la Maison Vever a toujours recherché et valorisé le savoir-faire, l’innovation et le génie humain au travers de ses créations. Pionnière de l’Art Nouveau, la Maison avait ce talent et cette audace d’oser aller à contrecourant de ses pairs lorsqu’il le fallait.

En 2021, nous faisons à nouveau ce choix : pour nos diamants, nous utilisons exclusivement des diamants de synthèse que la science des hommes parvient maintenant à faire grandir en laboratoire. Ces diamants exceptionnels, issus de décennies de recherche, sont la garantie d’une empreinte écologique minimisée et d'une plus grande traçabilité.

Un diamant créé en laboratoire, appelé diamant de synthèse en France, est la même pierre qu’un diamant de mine. Composés à 100% de carbone, ils ont tous les deux exactement les mêmes propriétés physiques, optiques et chimiques. L’unique différence réside dans son origine: l’un a été fabriqué au centre de la terre, et l’autre dans un laboratoire reproduisant les mêmes procédés chimiques et physiques œuvrés par la Nature.

vever bague or diamant ginkgo


Les ressources en diamant sont limitées – la terre n’en produit plus depuis un milliard d’années, et il devient de plus en plus difficile de les extraire. Il faut creuser de plus en plus loin, sur des zones de plus en plus larges, à des centaines de mètres en profondeur.
Creuser le sol pour en extraire un diamant a un impact considérable sur les écosystèmes et la biodiversité mais aussi sur la consommation d’eau et l’émission de gaz à effet de serre.

Un diamant de synthèse créé en laboratoire ne produit aucun déchet minier et consomme 70 litres d’eau alors qu’on estime à l’inverse qu’extraire 1 carat de diamant produit 2,5 tonnes de déchets miniers, et consomme 480 litres d’eau. Le principal impact du diamant de synthèse est l’énergie consommée pour alimenter les réacteurs dans lesquels « pousse » le diamant. Mais grâce aux énergies renouvelables, certains laboratoires font déjà pousser des diamants sans émettre aucune particule de CO2, quand d’autres participent activement à des programmes de compensation carbone dans l’attente de pouvoir produire avec des énergies vertes. C’est ainsi que nous pouvons certifier que plus de 90% de nos diamants ont d’ores et déjà une empreinte carbone neutre.

En complément, le parcours d’un diamant de synthèse offre une plus grande traçabilité car il est issu d'un circuit très court, sans multiplication d’intermédiaires. On peut ainsi assurer qu’il n’est l’objet d’aucun trafic, qu’il ne participe à aucun financement de conflits armés, et qu’aucun humain n’a été exploité lors de sa fabrication.


Le Packaging

Pour nos écrins, nous avons fait le choix de l’éco-conception. Cela consiste à prendre en compte l’impact environnemental de l’écrin à chaque étape de sa création : matières naturelles, recyclées, recyclables ou upcyclées, pas de plastique, et une fabrication locale, en France dans un petit atelier artisanal.

Ainsi l’écrin est construit intégralement en papier et carton recyclables, labélisés FSC, garant d’une gestion durable des forêts dont ils sont issus.

Les coussins qui accueillent et protègent le bijou sont rembourrés en chutes de mousses recyclées, et recouverts de soie naturelle upcyclée, qui provient de fins de rouleaux utilisés par des grandes maisons de haute couture.

Marion façonne les écrins à la main avec ses équipes de l’Atelier Dreieck à Paris, un atelier spécialisé dans la reliure, la papeterie et la restauration de livres anciens. Les papiers & les boîtes n’ont pas de secret pour eux, et la qualité et la minutie de leur travail font de chaque écrin une œuvre d’art.

vever écrin bijoux bijou